ROYAL INSTITUTE OF BRITISH ARCHITECTS PRESS RELEASE

Under strict embargo until 09:00 Thursday 01 November 2018

Press Contact: Elise Neve elise.neve@riba.org / 020 7307 3761

Images: https://riba.box.com/v/RIBAHonoraryFellows2019

RIBA Honorary Fellowships 2019 announced

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) has today (Thursday 1 November) announced the 2019 RIBA Honorary Fellowships, which will be awarded to individuals from a diverse spectrum of backgrounds, including museums and galleries, healthcare, architectural history and design.

RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who are not architects but have made a particular contribution to architecture. This includes individuals who have advanced its role in creating more sustainable communities, those involved in its promotion and management and those who nurture the interests of future generations.

The 2019 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:

Robert Ball - Chief Executive, Architects Benevolent Society

James Carpenter - Artist and designer

Beatrice Fraenkel – Chairman, Mersey Care NHS Foundation and Past Chair of the Architects Registration Board and also the Liverpool Ropewalks Partnership.

Sarah Gaventa – Director, Illuminated River Foundation, and past CABE Director

Zina Jardaneh – Chair of the Board, Palestinian Museum

Eusebio Leal Spengler – Historian of Havana City

His Highness Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed al-Qasimi – Sultan of Sharjah, UAE

Yana Peel – CEO, Serpentine Galleries and Founder of the V&A's Design Fund

Lynne Walker - Architectural Historian, University of London

The lifetime honour allows recipients to use the initials Hon FRIBA after their name.

The 2019 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a special event at the RIBA in London in February 2019.

ENDS

Notes to editors:

- 1. For further press information contact Elise Neve elise.neve@riba.org / 020 7307 3761
- 2. Images: https://riba.box.com/v/RIBAHonoraryFellows2019

- 3. Honorary Fellowships are awarded by the RIBA each year to individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the quality of architecture, the achievements of the profession and the aims and objectives of the RIBA. Any person who is not an architect may be nominated by RIBA members and elected as an Honorary Fellow.
- 4. The 2019 RIBA Honours Committee who selected the 2019 Fellows was chaired by RIBA President Ben Derbyshire; Lady Patty Hopkins (RIBA Gold Medallist 1994), Professor Bob Shiel (Bartlett School of Architecture), Wasfi Kani (Honorary Fellow 2018) and Pat Woodward (RIBA and Matthew Lloyd Architects).
- The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) is a global professional membership body that serves its members and society in order to deliver better buildings and places, stronger communities and a sustainable environment. www.architecture.com Follow us on Twitter for regular RIBA updates www.twitter.com/RIBA
- 6. Further information on the 2018 RIBA Honorary Fellows:

Robert Ball – Robert is Chief Executive of the Architects Benevolent Society, the charity dedicated to helping architects, assistants, technologists, technicians, landscape architects, and their families in times of need.

James Carpenter – James Carpenter has worked at the intersection of art, architecture and engineering for nearly 50 years, advancing a distinctive vision based on the use of natural light and glass as the foundational elements of the built environment.

Beatrice Fraenkel – Beatrice is a Past President of the Architects Registration Board. She has been an active politician in Merseyside, chaired the Mersey Care NHS Trust and was appointed a Built Environment Expert by the Design Council/CABE in 2015.

Sarah Gaventa – Sarah is a public space and public art expert and curator and is currently Director of the Illuminated River Foundation, a long-term art commission incorporating 15 bridges, from Albert Bridge to Tower Bridge.

Zina Jardaneh – Zina is Chair of the Palestinian Museum in Birzeit, Palestine and member of the Board of Trustees and the Board of Directors of Taawon-The Welfare Association, a Palestinian NGO. She was instrumental in driving the development of the Palestinian Museum.

Eusebio Leal Spengler – Eusebio is the Historian of Havana City and has been Director of the programme to restore and rebuild the historic centre of Old Havana, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

His Highness Dr Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed al-Qasimi - His Highness Dr Sheikh Sultan al-Qasimi is Ruler of Sharjah, its Dependencies, Member of the Supreme Council of the United Arab Emirates and patron of arts and architecture. He has helped shape the architectural character of Sharjah.

Yana Peel – Yana is Chief Executive of the Serpentine Galleries, the London-based public arts institution championing excellence and experimentation across art, architecture and design.

Lynne Walker – Dr. Lynne Walker is an architectural historian and Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Historical Research, University of London. Writing extensively on architecture, gender and space, she has framed the challenges and achievements of women architects in Britain, and her work is considered foundational to the study of women in architecture in this country.